The wrong era.

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Music.
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve always been told that I have an old soul. I’ve never really known how to take that; could be a compliment, could be a bad thing. Who knows. I just turned twenty-seven on Monday, and though that isn’t old, I feel a lot older than the number implies. Regardless of my age, I’ve always had an infatuation with older music. I think I was born in the wrong era. I love metal and new punk, which obviously wasn’t around in the 1960s, but I loooove me some oldies, soul and motown. The overall mood of songs from the 60s seems to be tenfold happier than anything recorded today. Take for instance the song posted below, Elenore by the Turtles. I don’t know who Elenore is and I could care less. All I know is that this song is impossible to listen to without smiling or singing along with it. If you’re having a bad day, find this song and put it on repeat for a few times as it’s short…almost too short to fully enjoy.

Anyway, open up your ear souls!
…Whatever that means.

Comments
  1. tHaT gIrL says:

    I feel younger than my age applies, maybe because I haven’t experienced all the things in life, like you have.
    Elvis does it for me. Open my ear soul…that is 🙂

  2. OK, well at least you have good taste. I grew up in Motown, so golden oldies were always on the radio. And this is a good one. I mean, how can you not dig a line that says “I really think you’re groovy/let’s go out to a movie…”?

Leave a Reply

