Challenge Obsolete.

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

This blog was originally intended to be a political rant. An ongoing, never ending, continuous bashing on all things political I disagree with or feel passionately enough to take the time to write about. Fragment. Though I’ve mentioned a couple few political issues in the past few blogs, that means nothing. They’ve been spread over a period of months and have been a few sentences to a paragraph at best. I’m not apologizing, shut up. I’m just setting up a segue into another political-lacking post. We’re going to discuss challenges. Did you just get a minor anxiety attack that felt like heartburn?! Yeah, me either. Some find the word itself to be…a challenge. I don’t. I love it, sexually. I honestly, absolutely love everything about the word challenge. I love what it stands for, and I love conquering it. How many words do you conquer a day? A week? A month? A year? I tally mine…on my bedpost. Jkmybedpostlookswaytoonicetoruinwithconquestmarkings.

I’m not sure why these random thoughts come by way of inspiration via alcohol consumption. I’m not an alcoholic, but I do find a lot of creativity spewing mainly when I’m drunk or drinking. Since I’m a lightweight they’re essentially the same thing. Some people stumble upon life changing epiphanies while on the toilet, or the subway, or while cooking dinner. I find mine while drinking and thinking over all of the things I accomplished during the day. I do this not as some sort of feel-good-about-myself-self-help agenda, rather as a way to remind myself why I did everything I did throughout the day. The end result is always the same. I find that I overcome a lot of challenges on a daily basis, and I bet if you thought about it, you’d find the same. For those of you who are cocky and self-assured, shut up, no one cares. For everyone else who has sporadic moments of doubt – try it. Given the amount of shitty drivers and inappropriately changing stop lights during your daily commute, getting to and from work and home is a challenge overcome in and of itself. Here’s my dilemma: I’m bored as fuck. Happy, but bored as fuck. I don’t mean this to sound cocky, but anything and everything that’s been set before me I’ve overcome. Good, bad, ugly and indifferent. All of it. I can’t detail all of the challenges I’ve overcome in my lifetime, but know that they’ve been many and often. On one hand, I feel like I shouldn’t be complaining about not being able to overcome challenges in my life. Some people would kill for that. On the other hand, it’s realistically my only challenge – that I can’t find enough, or one to suffice as an actual blockade.

I’m not necessarily saying that I want to end up sick with a terminal illness, or find out that I can’t have kids, or be on the wrong end of a car wreck and permanently in a coma. What I am saying, is that I need a new challenge or challenges. Something that pushes me beyond whatever limits I’ve already extended myself, and causes me to step outside of my comfort zone and be someone or something different that I’ve never uncovered. Yes, I realize that sounds lame as shit. But I’m serious. I like me. I like who I’ve become and I like who I am. But I know I could be better, for whatever that means. It’ll mean something different to everyone of you reading this. For me, it would mean taking on a challenge that tests me and causes me to reevaluate my livelihood, stance on an important issue, religious views, etc. I’m not going through a mid-life crisis, so buying a Ferrari won’t solve this problem. Sky diving is too cliche, and still won’t push me to my limits. I want to do something original, creative and outside of my realm of normalcy. I’m writing this blog because I don’t know what that challenge is. Whether you know me or not, I would like to hear your ideas. There are no right or wrong answers, but keep in mind that if your idea sucks, I’ll tell you. Again, the point of this is to challenge myself. I don’t even know what that means fully. I just know that I need to be challenged. My life’s almost too perfect, and I’m almost too happy. And I’m starting to feel guilty for it. I need a change. Life’s all about the adaptation to changes and the journey they create. My journey’s been smooth sailings…where’s my challenge? This summer I plan on studying for and taking the LSAT, so I suppose that could constitute as one challenge, but that’s not for a few months. I’m impatient, I need something NOW.

Good, bad or indifferent, let’s talk challenges. I want to hear all of them, no matter how minute they might be. Stop reading, start thinking>>>>>

Comments
  1. Karin says:

    For starters, not knowing what your challenge is, IS a challenge in itself. It is apparent that if you were to stop drinking for a while…that would be a challenge…it seems. Or you could stop being so full of yourself too…that is a thought…because what makes you think you have had challenges in the first place? (Sure I know…but, besides…)
    Maybe my definition of challenge is different that yours…
    You can eat better, take Reagan places, go hiking…those all seem like challenges for you.

    • rosslongaz says:

      True, not knowing what’s ahead can be a challenge – it requires you to always be prepared, or ready to adapt to what you’re not prepared for.

      Stopping drinking isn’t a challenge at all, I drink once or twice a week. And even if that were a challenge, it’s not drastic. I can change a lot of little things, like eating more veggies or going on hikes, but those aren’t the challeges I’m referring to. None of those things will change my life, though they might change my health.

      I wasn’t meaning to sound full of myself, I’m definitely not. My challenges don’t need to be detailed, and they’ll be different from what you or anyone else would consider a challenge anyway – it’s all subjective.

      • Karin says:

        I would beg to differ when it comes to all those “little” things. I think it can and would change your life, not just your health…you just don’t know it yet…because you can’t say what it will lead to.

        The drinking thing would be drastic…only because you are already saying it wouldn’t be.

        If it is all subjective…then why ask? Why think about it? Why care about it?

        • rosslongaz says:

          I honestly drink twice a week at most, and even then it’s a drink or two at a time because I’m a lightweight. It just happens to be that I blog after drinking.

          The little things are subjective. That doesn’t mean I can’t get ideas from what others would consider a challenge – it might also be something I’d consider a challenge. I’m not finding challenges on my own for whatever reason, so having third party perspective adding ideas and input could be useful.

  2. Karin says:

    -Get a cooking magazine and make everything in it.
    -Read a book on a subject (non-fiction) you know nothing about. Read a genre of fiction you have never read before.
    -Don’t get upset or be negative towards anyone for one day.

  3. Jayme says:

    ummmm… u can take on an actual relationship for once.. since you suck at those cause you really dont want to deal with anyone else… and lets face it… relationships are a challenge!! miss ur stupid face!!!

  4. charlywalker says:

    If I stop reading..then I’ll miss blogs like this..

    spread the humor: charlywalker.wordpress.com

  5. I you want to be challenged- do what scares you.

Leave a Reply

